What can i use as a substitute for cream?

In some recipes, you can substitute three fourths cup milk plus one third cup butter or margarine for 1 cup of heavy cream. If your recipe calls for whipping that cream, it won't work. You need the fat that's in heavy cream in order to get whipped volume.