Is there such thing as a black belt?

It all depends on what you're talking about. Martial Arts there is a Black Belt, in my day the first belt was the White Belt then Green Belt then the Brown Belt, and the first stage of the Black Belt degree, after achieving the Brown Belt it would take you at least 3-4 yrs to obtain a Black Belt.