How do you tell if a hard-boiled egg is done?

You can't tell by the appearance of the egg. You have to time the cooking. Boil water. Take eggs from refrigerator & place directly in boiling water, bring to full boil for 30 seconds. Lower heat and simmer 11 minutes. Remove eggs from simmering water and place in ice water to cool for 15 minutes.

---

Set it on the counter and give a quick spin. Once it’s moving, tap your finger on it to stop the spinning. Eggs that are cooked will spin easily and rapidly and stop quickly.