How do i know if a tomato is ripe?

A ripe tomato should generally be a deep red color, with no green or yellow patches. Some tomatoes may not be perfectly red or soft when they're ripe, it depends on the variety. However, if the tomato is fully colored, gives slightly to the touch and smells sweet, it's probably ripe.