Help make Alexa smarter on Alexa Answers. Sign in with Amazon

Food

What are non kosher entrees called?

2 Answers

There are many foods that are not Kosher, including Ham or Pork products. Foods that are non-Kosher are called "terefah" (or "forbidden") in Hebrew, or "trayf" in Yiddish.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1596660186689) }}

LIVE
Points points 12
Rating

Non-kosher food is called Treif which is derived from the Hebrew work 'teref" which means torn. Jews were forbidden to eat meat from an animal that was "torn" or mortally wounded.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1596657682817) }}

LIVE
Points points 4
Rating

Similar Questions
Join Alexa Answers

Help make Alexa smarter and share your knowledge with the world

LEARN MORE
Food 2 Answers

Join Alexa Answers

Help make Alexa smarter and share your knowledge with the world

LEARN MORE