What part of the scallion do you eat?

Both the green and white parts of the scallion are edible: the green has a milder flavor and makes an attractive garnish. Generally, the white part of the scallion is sharper tasting, or more onion-y, and is used when it will be cooked

---

Cut the root bottom off and trim the top. Cut into small pieces and drop into chicken broth to make a great starter soup or add won tons.