When was gold found?

Gold is found all over the world. The Greeks mined for gold in the Mediterranean & Middle East regions by 550 B.C., & both Plato and Aristotle wrote about gold & had theories about its origins. Gold was first discovered in the USA in North Carolina, in 1799. The gold rush in California was in 1849.