What causes coffee to be bitter?

There are multiple reasons that coffee can be bitter. The primary reason could be over extraction which could be caused by letting coffee steep too long. Too fine a ground can lead to bitterness as can using water that it too hot. Dirty equipment can also lead to bitterness.