What is a soft seventeen in blackjack?

The “soft 17 rule” is a rule that requires the dealer to hit on soft 17. For many blackjack players, this rather innocuous rule doesn’t seem like a big deal, but the fact of the matter it is." Any blackjack hand that contains an ace counted as an 11 is a soft hand.