How how long was the united states involved in the world war?

The United States was formally involved in World War 2 for just over 3 1/2 years. Following the attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, the United States declared war on Imperial Japan. World War 2 ended with the formal surrender of all Japanese forces on September 2, 1945.