What's the difference between a roux and a gravy?

A roux is a base for a sauce made from flour cooked in butter, it's generally used as a thickener for other sauces. Gravies are sauces for meat made with the juices from the roasting process, sometimes reduced and occasionally thickened with flour and (in the UK) a browning agent.