What is a a gun?

A gun is a weapon that shoots a projectile through a barrel. Among the types of guns are rifles, shotguns, and handguns. They shoot bullets, shot, and nonlethal options like flares, tear gas, and beanbags. Guns are used for hunting, self-defense, target practice, and by military and law enforcement.

---

A device designed to direct a projectile or energy source toward a target. Although a projectile can be self propelled or propelled by a gun, the main purpose of a gun is typically only to initiate and control the direction of travel of the projectile or directed energy source.