What is a block in baseball?

A balk is one of several illegal motions made by a pitcher in baseball. Many of the illegal moves involve the pitcher faking a pitch or throw to catch the batter or runners off guard. When a balk occurs, the play is nullified, and runners are awarded an extra base.