What is a fried chicken?

Fried chicken is chicken parts coated with flour, or better a flour and spice mixture, and cooked in oil. Restaurants will submerge the chicken in a hot oil cooker, but most chicken frying at home is done in a pan on the stove to save on the amount of oil.