Are cashews a legume?

No, although many think it to be, a cashew is a nut. A most unusual nut.

---

Although it's a true nut, rather than a legume, the cashew does grow in a rather unusual fashion. The tree grows a substantial crop of large, pear-shaped fruit known as cashew apples, and the nut itself grows from the bottom of the fruit in a cashew-shaped husk