How long can your brain go without oxygen?

Brain cells will begin to fail after only a minute without oxygen. if oxygen is restored in 4 to 6 minutes, recovery is possible, but significant brain damage will occur. The sooner oxygen or blood flow is restored the greater chance of a full recovery.