Why is wine not vegan?

Some vegans consider yeast to be a living organism and therefore avoid consuming alcoholic beverages (such as wine) that are fermented using yeast. However, this is only one of several definitions of veganism, and not all people who identify as vegan avoid yeast in their diets.