What was the first vaccine ever invented?

The first vaccine on record was created by Edward Jenner in the 18th century. Jenner was born in May 1749, in England, and dedicated about 20 years of his life to studying smallpox.

---

The small pox vaccine was the first vaccine invented. Edward Jenner reasoned that cow pox exposure protected milk maids against small pox. He tested this in England in 1796 by exposing a nine-year-old boy to cow pox and, later, repeatedly exposing him to small pox, which he never contracted.