What is the difference between a.m. and p.m.?

The 12-hour system divides the 24 hours of a day into two periods lasting 12 hours each. The first 12-hour period is designated as A M. It runs from midnight to noon. The second period, marked P M, covers the 12 hours from noon to midnight.