How long does it take to fry meatballs?

Typical meatball recipes call for frying them about 15 minutes until cooked through. But as there are many variables, the meat temperature should be checked with a thermometer to ensure it has reached 160 degrees Fahrenheit, or 72 degrees Celsius, to ensure prevention of foodborne illness.