When is the cutoff for gen z.?

Researchers and popular media use the mid-to-late 1990s as starting birth years for Gen Z and the early 2010s as ending birth years.

---

Gen "Z", or Generation "Z", is the current generation of young people born between 1997 and 2012. They follow on the heels of the millennials born between 1981 and 1996.