How often do dogs need a bath?

Rule of thumb: You can bathe your dog about once a month unless they seem smelly/dirty, or you notice it over-dries their skin. Note: Be sure to avoid over-bathing. Dry skin caused by over-bathing can be very uncomfortable. Dogs need a certain amount of oil to maintain a healthy coat and skin.