Why are nachos called nachos?

Nachos were invented by a maître d' named Ignacio Anaya, who whipped up the first batch for a group of hungry U.S. military wives at a restaurant called the Victory Club in Piedras Negras, Mexico, near Fort Duncan. He named them after his nickname, Nacho, and the rest is history.