How does airplay work?

AirPlay uses the Real Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP). The Apple Lossless Audio Codec is used over the UDP transport layer protocol to stream two audio channels at 44100 Hertz. Audio data is scrambled by the AirPlay server device, which uses a private key-based encryption system.