What year did south carolina succeed from the union?

South Carolina became the first state to secede from the federal Union. Citing “an increasing hostility on the part of the non-slaveholding states to the institution of slavery,” and the election of Abraham Lincoln to the presidency, South Carolina declared its secession on December 20, 1860.