What was duane chapman convicted of?

Chapman went to jail for his involvement in the 1976 murder of Jerry Oliver in Pampa, Texas. Oliver, who was selling marijuana to them, was shot dead by Chapman’s friend inside his house. Chapman was waiting for his friend in a car outside Oliver’s home. He served 1 1/2 years of a 5 year sentence.