Are there bears in germany?

The last of Germany's native bears and wolf populations died out in the 19th century. There are stories of wolves coming back through Poland and the Czech Republic. The brown bear was considered extinct in Germany after the last bear was shot in 1835 in the Bavarian Alps near Ruhpolding.