Who made the candy cane?

Who made the candy cane? The 1st candy cane was not made in the shape of a cane. It was white, completely straight and only flavored with sugar. The cane shaped candy became historical when a choirmaster at the Colognem, Germany bent the sugar-sticks into canes to appear as shepherd's hooks