Why is it called candycorn?

Candy corn originated in the 1880s. According to the National Confectioners Association (NCA), an employee at the Wunderlee Candy Company named George Renninger invented candy corn. Workers, dubbed stringers, walked backwards pouring the candy into cornstarch trays imprinted with the kernel shape.