How many people get kidnapped a year?

Thousands of people go missing in the United States each year and many are never heard from again. According to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (citing U.S. Department of Justice reports), nearly 800,000 children are reported missing each year. That's more than 2,000 a day.