Who is the man in the hat?

The Man in the Yellow Hat is a character from a collection of children's books focused on the fictional monkey Curious George. In the first story, the Man in the Yellow Hat captures George and brings him to live in a zoo. Starting with the second book, though, George lives with the Man in the city.