What is a taste test?

A taste test is a comparison of two or more items, generally edible, to gauge specific aspects or desirability of the items being compared. For example, the more likable cola taste test between Coke and Pepsi, or a more flavorful, crunchy chicken like Popeye's or Bojangles'.