Why do people hug each other?

Love and affection

---

We now know that human beings need touch, particularly in childhood, almost as powerfully as they need basic necessities like food and water. People hug because it feels good. It's also a good way to greet a friend or relative and show how you feel about them. Hugs can also cheer up a sad person.