Why is winter called winter?

The English word "winter", comes from the Proto-Germanic word, wentruz, meaning winter. This in turn most likely comes either from the Proto-Indo-European "wed", meaning “wet”, or perhaps from the Proto-Indo-European word, "wind", meaning “white”.