What is the prime meridian on a map?

The Prime Meridian is 0 degrees longitude, an imaginary line that divides the earth in to Eastern and Western hemispheres at a right angle to the Equator. The line passes through the Royal Observatory in Greenwich, England and is sometimes referred to as the Greenwich Meridian.