Is wales an independent country?

Although the UK is a unitary sovereign country, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales have gained a degree of autonomy through the process of devolution. England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales are not themselves listed in the International Organization for Standardization list of countries.