Why do they call it french fries?

In winter, when the river froze, the fish-deprived villagers fried potatoes instead. It's said that this dish was discovered by American soldiers in Belgium during World War I and, since the dominant language of southern Belgium is French, they dubbed the tasty potatoes French fries.

---

Historians believe origins of French Fries came from a recipe by French Chef Honoré called ‘Pommes de terre frites en petites tranches’ (potatoes deep-fried while raw in small slices). Thomas Jefferson introduced this recipe to America and this popular dish was renamed French Fried Potatoes.