How do bats get rabies?

They are infected by a rabid animal. They are not asymptomatic carriers of the disease. ... Less than half of 1% of all bats may contract the disease. A variety of wild animals (rabies vector species) can catch rabies, including foxes, skunks, raccoons, coyotes and bats.