What is the boston tea party?

The Boston Tea Party was a political and mercantile protest by the Sons of Liberty in Boston, Massachusetts, on December 16, 1773. That evening, a group of 30 to 130 men, some disguised as Mohawk warriors, boarded three vessels and dumped 342 chests of tea into the water.