Tell me about world war two guns?

The M1 Garand was the first standard-issue semi-automatic rifle, and General George S. Patton called it “the greatest battle implement ever devised”. In 1936, the Garand officially replaced the M1903 Springfield, becoming the standard service rifle of the United States Armed Forces.