What kind of animal is ratchet from ratchet and clank?

Ratchet from Ratchet & Clank is not a real animal. Ratchet is an anthropomorphic character known as a Lombax. His first appearance was on Planet Veldin, but it is later revealed in the series that Ratchet was originally born on the Lombax home-world of Planet Fastoon in the Polaris Galaxy.