What causes a whirlpool?

A whirlpool is a body of swirling water formed when two opposing currents meet. They form wherever water is flowing, from creeks and streams to rivers and seas. Any whirlpool that contains a downdraft – one capable of sucking objects beneath the water’s surface – is called a vortex.