Who was the first woman to run for u. s. president?

According to Encyclopedia Britannica, the first woman to pursue the country’s highest office was Victoria Woodhull—a stockbroker, newspaper publisher, and champion of social reform who ran for the presidency in 1872, some 50 years before women throughout the United States achieved the right to vote.