Who is the first president that lived in the white house?

Although President Washington oversaw the construction of the house, he never lived in it. It was not until 1800, when the White House was nearly completed, that its first residents, President John Adams and his wife, Abigail, moved in.

---

On Saturday, November 1, 1800, John Adams became the first president to take residence in the White House.