What does a.m. p.m. stand for?

A.M. stands for the Latin phrase "Ante meridiem", which means before noon. P.M. stands for "Post meridiem", or after noon.

---

From the Latin words meridies (midday), ante (before) and post (after), the term ante meridiem (a.m.) means before midday and post meridiem (p.m.) means after midday.