What is a meat by-product?

'Meat' refers to muscles of an animal, while meat by-products refer to parts edible if processed, but do not originate from muscle tissue. Fat, internal organs, skin, bones and cartilage, are considered meat by-products and find their way into processed food such as hotdogs, sausage and pet food.