Who made martin luther king day a holiday?

Who made martin luther king day a holiday? On Nov. 2, 1983, President Ronald Reagan signed a bill making Martin Luther King Jr. Day a federal holiday effective Jan. 20, 1986. As a result, Americans commemorate Martin Luther King, Jr. 's birthday on the third Monday in January,