Where did turn on a dime come from?

The phrase “turn on a dime” evolved from the phrase “turn on a five-cent piece,” which was used as early as 1881 to refer to a well-trained horse. In the 1920s, the phrase “playing on a dime” referred to a baseball fielder who could not cover much ground.