What were the earliest humans called?

The genus to which all humans belong is the genus "Homo". The earliest member of the genus is Homo habilis ("handy man"), which evolved around 2.8 million years ago. Homo habilis lived in East and South Africa, and is the first species for which we have positive evidence of the use of stone tools.