Why do bulls like the color red?

Actually, they don't. Bulls, along with all other cattle, are color-blind to red. Thus, the bull is likely irritated by the cape's movement as the matador whips it around, not the color. In support of this is the fact that a bull charges the matador's other cape, the larger capote, with equal fury.